During Industrial Electronics Society’s AdCom of June, the president, Terry Martin, has appointed 2 new co-Editor-in-Chiefs (co-EiC) of IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics. The appointment is advised by Publication Committee and validated by AdCom members. The new co-EiCs, Prof. Yang Shi (reappointment) from Canada and Prof. Changyun Wen from Singapore, will serve their term from 2021 to 2023. Congratulations to them!

Yang Shi

Yang Shi received B.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in industrial automation and control engineering from Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi’an, China, in 1994 and 1998, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada, in 2005.

From 2005 to 2009, he was an Assistant Professor and Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK, Canada. In 2009, he joined the University of Victoria, and now he is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC, Canada. His current research interests include networked and distributed systems, model predictive control (MPC), cyber-physical systems (CPS), robotics and mechatronics, navigation and control of autonomous systems (AUV and UAV), and energy system applications.

Dr. Shi received the University of Saskatchewan Student Union Teaching Excellence Award in 2007. At the University of Victoria, he received the Faculty of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award in 2012, and the Craigdarroch Silver Medal for Excellence in Research in 2015. He received the JSPS Invitation Fellowship (short-term) and was a Visiting Professor with the University of Tokyo during Nov.-Dec. 2013. His co-authored paper was awarded the 2017 IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems Outstanding Paper Award. He received the Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers in 2018. He was a member of the IEEE IES Administrative Committee with voting rights during 2017-2019, and he is the Chair of IEEE IES Technical Committee on Industrial Cyber-Physical Systems. Currently, he is Co-Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics; He also serves as Associate Editor for Automatica, IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology, IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics, etc. He is General Chair of the 2019 International Symposium on Industrial Electronics (ISIE) and the 2021 International Conference on Industrial Cyber-Physical Systems (ICPS).

He is a Fellow of IEEE, ASME, Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), and Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME), and a registered Professional Engineer in British Columbia, Canada.

Changyun Wen

Changyun Wen received the B.Eng. from Xi’an Jiaotong University, China in 1983 and the Ph.D. from the University of Newcastle, Australia in 1990. From August 1989 to August 1991, he was a Research Associate and then Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Adelaide, Australia. Since August 1991, he has been with School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, where he is currently a Full Professor. His main research activities are in the areas of control theory and applications, autonomous robotic systems, complex systems and networks, fault diagnosis and compensation, smart grids, cyber-physical systems, online learning and system identification.

He is a Fellow of IEEE, was a member of IEEE Fellow Committee from January 2011 to December 2013 and a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Control Systems Society from February 2010 to February 2013. Professor Wen is an Associate Editor of Automatica (from Feb 2006) and IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics (from May 2013). He is the Executive Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Control and Decision. He was an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control from January 2000 to December 2002 and IEEE Control Systems Magazine from 2009 to 2019. He has been actively involved in organizing conferences with various roles including Member of Advisory Committees, General Chair (including the General Chair of IECON 2020), Technical Program Committee Chair and so on. He was the recipient of a number of awards, including the Prestigious Engineering Achievement Award from the Institution of Engineers, Singapore in 2005, and the Best Paper Award of IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics from the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society in 2017.