Senior Past President of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (2018-2019), Prof. Xinghuo Yu has been elected 2023 Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Xinghuo Yu (in the center) elected 2023 Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science


Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among the Nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact. Each year the Academy may elect up to 20 new Fellows by ‘Ordinary Election’ and up to four additional Fellows by ‘Special Election’. From 1954 to 2023, there have been 915 Fellows elected to the Academy.

Xinghuo Yu has made outstanding contributions to the theory and application of discontinuous control of systems. He is a pioneer in terminal sliding-mode control theory and technology and an explorer in complex network systems and engineering applications. These developments benefit both industry and society more broadly, and have been directly applied to address industrial problems in areas such as smart grids, robotics, and cybersecurity. He has played a leading global role in advancing the electrical and electronic engineering profession and beyond, by organizing major conferences, leading change management, and shaping publishing futures.

Congratulations to him!

Xinghuo Yu, Professor, RMIT University, Victoria, Australia
Prof. Xinghuo Yu (Fellow, IEEE) received B.Eng. and M.Eng. degrees in electrical and electronic engineering from the University of Science and Technology of China, in 1982 and 1984, and Ph.D. degree in control science and engineering from Southeast University, in 1988, respectively. He is a Distinguished Professor and a Vice-Chancellor’s Professorial Fellow at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT University), Australia. His research interests include control systems, complex and intelligent systems, and future energy systems. He served as an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics and IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics. He received a number of awards and honors for his contributions, including 2013 Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, and 2018 M. A. Sargent Medal from Engineers Australia. He is an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia.

Read the full list of Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science: